LATE Chapter 005

Eric tries to remember his Mom

Sookie was lying on her stomach on the bed on top of the big white towel. Eric stepped out of the room wearing a towel around his waist, and came right back with the steno pad.

“That’s a very pretty view, my lover.”

“Well, enjoy it while you can because I’m going to get fat.”

“You will not get fat. You will blossom, and ripen, and after you will be my beautiful princess once more.” He threw the pad and pen on the bed next to her and picked his black jeans up off the floor.

“What if I don’t? What if I stay fat?”

“No chance of that, lover. I will give you my blood and my attentions regularly – you will be healthier than you have ever been.” Frowning, he went through all the pockets several times.

“Speaking of healthy, what about pre-natal care?”

“What?”

“You know, a doctor to help make sure everything is OK. I don’t think Louisiana has any OB/GYNs that specialize in “children of magick.”” She joked in her best Boris Karloff imitation.

“This is true.”

He was down on his knees now, looking under the bed.

“Eric, what about Dr. Ludwig – does she handle babies?”

“I have no idea, but I’m sure if she doesn’t, she will know who does. She’s very well connected in our world.”

“Will you talk to her then? Soon?”

He was on his knees facing the bed now, resting on his elbows.

“Would you like me to summon her now?”

“No. Early tomorrow evening would be good, though. I’m a little nervous about this and I’d feel better if I knew what I need to be doing.”

“Good – make another column and put it at the top of the list,” and he resumed his search under the bed.

“What’s with you and lists all of a sudden?”

“We are in uncharted territory, lover – it’s best to take a map so we don’t forget anything.“

“That’s very pragmatic of you.”

“One of us has to be – you have cried three times today that I have witnessed.”

“What’s that supposed to mean?”

“It means that pregnant women are known to be… mercurial.”

“Mercurial?”

“Yes, mercurial – moody and weeping all the time. You aren’t normally weepy as you have been today. Quick to anger sometimes, but not so quick to cry.”

“OK, now you’re just pissing me off.”

“I’m so glad you aren’t being moody.” Eric laughed loudly – he thought he was the funniest guy in the world sometimes. Most people don’t know that about him, but Sookie did. He never laughed harder than when he was laughing at his own jokes.

“What ARE you looking for?”

“Fangtasia matches. I had two books in my pockets.”

“What do you want them for?”

“Candles.”

“Ah, so… who are we telling about this baby. Amelia and Pam already know. Do we keep it quiet for a time or do we make a grand announcement and put it in all the papers.”

“I do not think we need to involve the press, lover.”

“I know, I’m kidding. When and how do we tell Jason. And Sam. And, especially, Bill.”

“Bill will find out when the rest of Area 5 finds out – though I admit, I would like to see his face when he finds out I fathered a child with you.”

“That’s mean”

“That’s ME. The shifter will need to know within a few months that he needs to replace you…”

“Replace me?!”

Eric dropped his towel and lay on the bed beside her, propped up on his elbow.

“Sookie, we have no idea what this child is going to need. He might be unable to go in the sun. He might sleep only in the day. He might need milk or he might need blood. Some Fairies drink either, or both.”

“They do?!”

“Yes, lover, they do. You might want to consider learning more about your Fae blood since it may affect our baby.”

“You mean OUR Fae blood, don’t you?”

He settled on his back, looking at the ceiling.

“Yes, I suppose I do.”

“Did you know about your Fae blood?”

“I thought it was just stories, but yes, I suppose I did.”

“What was her name.”

“Erin is what I was told, but that was also a name for Ireland so it might have been anything.”

“Do you remember her?”

“Some. She had hair a little darker than yours, but she was small as you are and very pretty. When I first met you, I thought of her. I didn’t know why at the time, but I thought it was because you looked like her. Now I think I recognized the Fairy in you and associated that with my mother. You always felt as if you were supposed to be with me. I never accepted the fact that you were with Bill – it was just… wrong, somehow, for him to touch you. I knew the Fates brought you to me. I know now that I was more right than I knew.“

“When was the last time you saw her?”

“I was small – maybe three or four. I remember her crying as she sang to me, and then I never saw her again. My father never allowed me to speak of her. He said she was a curse sent to ruin him, but he was far from ruined. Our clan was wealthy and powerful. The only thing he ever wanted for was Erin.”

Sookie looked up suddenly – was Eric crying? Not quite, but close. His voice broke. What the hell do you do with an hormonal vampire? She needed to change the subject.

“Do you want to go with me when I tell Jason?”

“That is an excellent question, my lover. Your brother and I don’t particularly like each other, but I would like to be with you when you tell him. He has a pattern of taking news badly, and I won’t take a risk of him striking you again. Better I be there to restrain him than to stay away and have to kill him.”

“Eric, he’s my brother.”

“If he strikes you again, especially while you are carrying my son, you will be an only child. I will not tolerate any harm to either one of you from anyone, for any reason., and you need to accept that, Sookie. It won’t change. I have been far less aggressive than I should have been with your previous lovers and your family and your co-workers because I did not want to upset you and have you angry with me. I will be more definitive in my actions from this point forward.”

“Even if it makes me mad at you?”

“If there is any chance of you or my son being harmed, yes, even then. I cannot afford to show any weakness now. Others must know that I will show no mercy to those who would threaten us. You must understand this.”

 

One thought on “LATE Chapter 005

Leave a Reply

