LATE Chapter 031

Scarlett O’Hara & Maggie the Cat

 

 

“Good Morning, Miss!”

“Mm? Oh hi, Alicia – what time is it?”

“It’s eleven o’clock. I’ve got smoked salmon and bagels again for you.”

“Oh, yum!” Sookie said and she eagerly sat up so Alicia could set her tray down. There was a ton of food here, and Sookie knew she was going to wolf it all down in no time. “Alicia – today is Saturday, right?”

“Yes, Miss.”

“And I have to leave next Friday for Las Vegas. I need something really spectacular to wear to a semi-formal cocktail party Saturday night. I need to really knock everyone’s socks off, you know what I mean?”

“Yes, Miss, I do. I actually had an eye on something at one of the stores that I thought would be perfect, but I wasn’t sure what size to get. Would you like to go over today and try it on?”

“Yeah, could I do that?”

“I’ll tell you what – right after you have your session with Ms. James, I’ll drive you over to the shop that’s holding the dresses. I had planned to have some samples brought to the house, but I imagine you’d like to know what you’re going to wear today since it’s on your mind.”

“Yeah – I wanted to get something kind of… ah”

“…sexy?” Alicia offered.

“Yeah, something that would be a treat for Eric. He loves lingerie.”

“Well, why don’t we make an afternoon of it? I know a few shops you’ve probably never been to that have some awfully pretty stuff.”

“Cool! Thanks! I won’t be taking you away from things you need to do here, will I?

“Oh no, Miss, Saturdays are light days. I’m really only here to make sure you eat today and in case you are sick. I can do that as we shop. I’ll go down now and tell Margaret that she’s handling dinner when Mr. Northman arrives – you did want to do family dinner again, yes?”

“Yes. I liked that a lot.”

“Very well – you finish up, I’ll talk to Margaret, and while you’re working out I’ll get a comfy dress ready that’s easy to take on and off for you since you’ll be trying on clothes.

“Thank you so much, Alicia. I’m so glad you’re here to help me!”

“I am too, Miss.”

Sookie dropped her shields enough to hear Alicia think that she was sweet. Aw – she really did like her. She thought so. She always seemed kind of… maternal…toward Sookie and she liked it. She thought about her own mom, and how she wished she were here for the wedding. Oh, well. Eric, Jason and Amelia were pretty much all she had in the world right now, and they would all be there, plus Pam and Bobbie James.

She thought about Sam, and Bill, and all the Weres and Shifters she knew. They could have come to a local wedding, but that was just too much to do in this short time. She wasn’t thrilled about the prospect of walking down the aisle with a huge belly full of baby, either. The way her dress flared slightly at the bottom, she might not even look pregnant in the photos, except for the abundance of cleavage Eric loved so much. She thought of how beautiful Eric was and that started the throbbing down there. Her ‘little friend down there’ was wide-awake now.

Sookie finished the salmon and all in record time and with great relish. She loved that stuff! She took her ibuprofen with juice, then she hopped into the shower. She came out in a towel, but she put the black one-piece swimsuit Alicia put out right away and combed her hair out so it would dry a bit. She wanted to wear it down today to try on dresses, or she’d put it in a ponytail for her workout, but if she did that now, her hair wouldn’t look good later, so she’d just have to be careful not to get it wet.

She put on her sheer black cover-up and went down stairs. Bobbie wasn’t here yet, so Sookie just wandered around in the living room for a few minutes. She looked at the beautiful dark cherry furnishings that matched the rose-colored palette of the room. She looked out the window at the Roman fountain that was so pretty in the light. She noticed a gorgeous impressionist painting over the fireplace and wondered if it was real or not. She’d have to ask Eric about it. He might have known the Impressionists, she laughed to herself.

“Good morning, Miss.” Margaret came out of the kitchen.

“Oh, hi, Margaret”

“Can I get you anything?”

“Oh, no, I’m just waiting for my personal trainer to get here. Margaret – you’ve worked for Mr. Northman for a long time, right?”

“Oh, yes, Miss. I was with him two years before he bought this house, and the four years since.”

“Do you know who decorated this room?”

“This was one of the last rooms finished, actually, just a year and a half ago. I remember Mr. Northman hiring a woman from New Orleans and he told her he wanted a drawing room right out of a Southern Belle’s dream. He said he found his Scarlett O’Hara and he wanted the house ready for her when she finally agreed to marry him.”

“He said that? Scarlett O’Hara? A year and a half ago?”

“Yes, he did, Miss, and here you are.”

“Did he say it was me?”

“Not by name, Miss, but you’re the only woman who has ever been here and didn’t you start seeing Mr. Northman about a year and a half ago?”

“Yeah, I guess I did. I had no idea he did all of this for me.”

“Oh, yes, we were very surprised. The only rooms he really used before were the gym on the fourth floor and the bedroom, and I’m not sure he used it for much besides a place to bathe and hang his clothes. He had the kitchen upgraded and the dining room finished in case you decided to do any entertaining, too.”

“The kitchen and dining room, too?”

“Yes, indeed – it wasn’t much before, but it was enough to serve an occasional snack for an accountant or lawyer. He said he didn’t know if you liked to cook or not, but he wanted you to have everything you might need, just in case.”

“All of this…” Sookie said, looking around. “Do you know if that painting…?

“That’s an original Monet, Miss. He has the papers that prove the provenance in his safe, I believe, along with the ones for the paintings in the dining room.”

“And this door here goes to the dining room?”

“Yes, miss there’s a door on each side of the fireplace that goes into there. The dining room has a fireplace directly in back of this one.”

Sookie went over and slid the door into the frame and looked at the dining room. Dark cherry furnishings in here, too, including a huge china cabinet at the opposite end of the room full of dishes with a delicate rose pattern. There was a painting over the sideboard, which had crystal candlesticks and other beautiful bowls and trinkets on it and a small statue of Venus de Milo in the middle. There was a complete porcelain tea service on a side table, too, and another painting over this fireplace and seating for 8 people. The left side of the room was mostly windows and looked out over the rose bushes.

“This is beautiful,” Sookie said with wonder. She was stunned again. The doorbell rang then and Sookie knew it was Bobbie, but Margaret went to answer the door anyway and Sookie slid the door closed again. Like her heroine Scarlett, she’d think about this later.

She told Bobbie she didn’t want to get her hair wet, but that was fine because most of the exercises she wanted to focus on were standing ones that she did at the side of the pool closer to the shallow end. The portable massage table was wet up out there again, and Sookie actually slipped her whole suit off as Bobbie held up a towel as she got up on the table so Bobbie could really work on her pelvic region. She thought they could head off these cramps if they really worked the muscles deeply.

She confirmed that Bobbie would be there at 5 tomorrow for her session so she could stay late enough to teach Eric, so Sookie invited her to have dinner with them, and she accepted. That would give them a chance to talk about the trip to Las Vegas and she’d have time to get to know Eric. As Bobbie left, Sookie told Margaret that she would be there for dinner tomorrow evening, and Bobbie filled Margaret in on a couple of dietary restrictions.

When Bobbie was on her way, Sookie went back up to her room and put on a little yellow knit tank dress that had a red belt and was easy to get on and off, though the belt helped hide the ever bigger baby bulge. Sookie took a minute to put both hands over the bulge and say “I love you, Baby E” and was rewarded with a little wave of love through the bond. She smiled about that the rest of the day.

Sookie did her makeup and found that there was a pair of little red sandals and a red handbag packed with her things sitting on the dresser. She was all set by the time Alicia came up to see if she was ready to go. They took Sookie’s new car but Alicia was driving since she knew where the stores were.

The first shop was called Betty Anne’s Closet and it specialized in dresses for special occasions – weddings, proms, etc. Alicia asked about the dresses she had on hold for the Northman account, and the sales girl brought out three gorgeous dresses. Alicia and Sookie took them into the big communal changing room, and Alicia hung them up while Sookie took off her belt. Alicia put Sookie’s dress on an empty hanger she found on one of the hooks on the wall, and Sookie wiggled into the first dress. It was blue but a little frilly for Sookie’s taste, so they tried one that was Lavender and very pretty, but a little old fashioned. Alicia said she saved the best for last, though, and she wasn’t kidding.

It was a Grecian style dress that gathered on each shoulder and flared at the bottom. Sookie looked amazing in it. Alicia said it reminded her of one Elizabeth Taylor had worn in a movie once and Sookie said “Cat on a Hot Tin Roof” and they both laughed. Except for the beautiful pink color, this was the dress Maggie the Cat wore to Big Daddy’s birthday party.

It was perfect – the skirt flowed when she walked and the way it was gathered at the waist, Baby E was well hidden. It made her chest look huge, in a good way, especially when they tried a strapless corset in a slightly paler shade of pink under it. The corset had a matching pink thong and detachable garters, which Sookie knew Eric would love so she bought the kind of stockings to wear with garters. Alicia had a pair of shoes on hold to go with the dress – satin pumps just a little darker pink than the dress. They got her a small matching bag, just in case, though Sookie was pretty sure she wouldn’t need one. She was all set for the cocktail party.

Alicia took her to another shop that had resort style clothing and they got Sookie two little knit dresses that she could throw on over a bikini and feel dressed if need be. They found a nice little sundress of the type Eric loved in shades of blue at a third store and the fourth store they hit was a lingerie shop where Sookie found a couple of things that looked sexy even with the bulge.

They got back to the house just after dark and Eric was sitting in the kitchen, waiting for dinner, talking to Margaret, smiling like a Cheshire cat.

“Hi, Sweetie!” Sookie was excited to see him and tell him all about what they bought, so she was practically jumping up and down as she went over to hug him and kiss him.

“Hello, dear one. Did you have fun today?” he was beaming as she sat on his lap.

“Yes! We went shopping, and wait ‘til you see the dress I got for the cocktail party!”

“She’ll look like a movie star,” Alicia said proudly.

“Oh, really… am I going to be jealous of every man that looks at you that night?”

“You’d better be, buddy,” she laughed.

His face was showing absolute delight at seeing her this way. Margaret was putting Sookie’s plate together and had a True Blood in the microwave. Alicia took Sookie’s packages upstairs and Sookie sat at the table.

“Were you waiting for me long?” Sookie asked.

“Not long at all. I was delighted when Margaret told me you had Alicia take you shopping. It sounds as if you had a very successful day.”

“Yeah, I feel a lot better knowing I have that dress. I’ve just got to find jewelry to wear with it. I got matching shoes and a little bag already.”

“Did you have your massage today?”

“Yeah, we worked a lot on my lower body and especially around my pelvic region.”

He wiggled his eyebrows at her and she giggled. Margaret sat her plate in front of Sookie and gave Eric his blood.

“So what is this about tomorrow?” Eric asked.

“Remember Dr. Ludwig said you should learn to do massage for when I have those cramps?” Sookie was sawing into a very rare rib eye steak that was soft as butter.

“Yes, I remember something about that.”

“Well, Bobbie and I had planned for her to come later tomorrow so she could show you what to do, and since she’ll be here anyway, I invited her to have dinner with us. Is that OK?”

“Of course, my lover. Whatever you want.”

“Good. I thought we could fill her in on the Vegas trip and see if she needs anything, and you could get to know her. I really like her.”

“That will be fine. I do want to know what to do for you if you have those cramps. They seem to take a lot out of you.”

Margaret and Alicia interrupted briefly and excused themselves for the day.

“OK, good night! Yeah, the last time was really bad. I never felt anything like that before.”

“I am sorry you were in pain, my lover.”

“Yeah, well, that’s nothing compared to what giving birth is going to feel like.”

“Are you worried about that?”

“Yeah, of course, I think about it. I figure it will be OK because there’s so much magick going on here, but it’s still going to hurt like crazy.”

“There are operations that can remove the baby, are there not?”

“Yeah, but then they have to cut me open. I’d really like to do this the traditional way if possible.”

“We will learn Lamaze.”

“Lamaze?”

“It’s a process for “natural child birth” – the father helps the mother deal with the pain, and he is there to see the birth.”

“Do you want to do that?”

“If you don’t mind… yes, I would like to.”

“Will you be able to handle the blood?”

“I have been around bloody scenes many times, my lover.”

“Fairy blood?”

“It won’t be easy, but I can handle it. I’ll be sure to have lots of True Blood on hand and won’t let myself drink so I don’t lose control.”
“That’s going to be so hard for you.”

“Not nearly as hard as you pushing a baby through your poor little vagina.”

“True, “ she laughed as she took her plate to the sink.

 

He was glad she could joke about it because he was very worried but didn’t want her to know that. He stood and put his arm around her, guiding her back toward the den. He flopped on the couch and held his arms out, so she snuggled in next to him and he hugged her to him.

 

“Mmmm” she said, “this is my favorite part of the day.”

“What part, my lover.”

“The part where I get to feel your arms around me again. I think about this moment all day.”

He kissed her forehead. “Did you miss me today, lover?”

“Yes, I missed you – I miss you like crazy every day. It’s such a relief when you wake up!”

He smiled and squeezed her and she stretched her arm around him and hugged him back.

“So, ya big Viking, what are we doing? It’s Saturday night, you know.”

“What do most people do on Saturday night?”

“Most couples have a date of some kind.”

“Do you want to go out?”

“No, I don’t want to go out. Hey, don’t  you have a lot of movies?”

“Yes, you know I bought a few hundred to keep around in case we wanted to watch them.”

“Do you have one called Cat on a Hot Tin Roof?”

“I do not know – someone else bought them. They are in alphabetical order if you want to look.”

“OK, hang on…” she jumped up and went to the cabinet that had his DVDs in it.

“Hey, you’ve got it. It’s never been opened…”

“Most of them have never been opened.”

“You bought movies you didn’t watch?”

“I told him to buy movies a young woman would like. Is that such a movie?”

“Yeah, it’s one of the original chick flicks, though it’s based on a Broadway play.”

“Would you like to watch it here or upstairs?”

“Let’s start down here” she said, handing him the movie. “I want to start living more in the whole house, since you went to all this trouble decorating it.”

“What trouble?”

“The way I hear it, this place wasn’t much to look at until about a year and a half ago then you met some Scarlett O’Hara-type chick and decided to have it fixed up for her.”

He smiled at her. “Who told on me?”
“I’m not telling, but is that true? You said you found your Scarlett and wanted the house decorated for her?”

“I did. And, I did.”

She laughed and leaned over to kiss him, but she tickled his side too, and made him jump.

“Hey, I didn’t know vamps were ticklish.”

“We are and we aren’t. I can ignore a tickle, or I can give in to it. You on the other hand…” he grabbed her around the waist and started tickling her. She screamed, laughed and struggled for a few minutes that were absolute bliss for him, then suddenly …

“Wait, Eric, wait – put your hand on my tummy!”

He did and they could both feel a sense of amusement and love that wasn’t coming from either of them.

“He likes it – he likes that you tickled me.”

“So it would seem. I told you he would be like his father.”

“Of course he’ll be like his daddy,” she teased. “Mostly, though, I hope he has your beautiful blue eyes.”
“You have beautiful eyes, my lover.”

“Not like yours – yours sort of glitter at certain times and they’re really blue and so pretty. I’d love to have a baby with those eyes. “ He kissed her long and hard, then said “hold that thought” and went to put the movie in the player and turn on the TV.

He threw the remote to her and went to the closet for the quilt.

They settled in to watch the movie, snuggled under the quilt. Early in the movie, when Maggie came in with ice cream on her leg and changed her stockings, Eric whistled as she did it. “Oh, you like that, huh?” Sookie said, smiling to herself.
“Yes, I love those… what are they called?”

“Garters and stockings?”

“Yes, garters. One of the few modern improvements in women’s fashion and they’re nearly extinct.”

“Hmm – I’ll have to keep that in mind.” She was about to bust knowing she had the corset and stockings set for their trip. He would love it!

“This woman is very pretty for a brunette – what is her name?”

“Elizabeth Taylor. She was one of the most beautiful women in the world.”

“I can see that. She has a lovely figure. She’s not like these stick figures you see in movies these days. She has lovely arms.”

“Lovelier than mine?” she joked

“None are lovelier than yours, my lover,” He said in all seriousness.

“You can’t tell in this movie, but she has violet eyes.”

“Violet? I have never seen a human with violet eyes.”

“It’s a special genetic variation. We learned about it in school. She has an extra female gene that enhances all of her womanly traits.”

“She is one they should clone when they learn how.”

“Yeah,” she laughed, “I guess they should.”

Eric commented on her “lovely figure” again in the scenes where Maggie was walking around in her slip. “Her breasts are almost as beautiful as yours, my lover.” He said with a perfectly straight face. He couldn’t understand how Brick could refuse to have sex with her.

“My woman will never have to ask twice.”

“Oh, really?”

“Try me…” he teased.

“In a little bit – there’s something I want you to see coming up here.”

Very shortly came the scene where Big Mamma is in the room accusing Maggie of not giving Brick enough sex to keep him from drinking, and Maggie puts the dress on. “This is it – Eric, look at this dress.”

“That is very feminine. Why don’t women dress like that anymore?” he said wistfully.’

“Is Saturday night soon enough?”

“What do you mean?”

“Imagine that dress in pink….”

“That would be lovely…. Why?” he said hopefully.

“That’s what I bought today for the cocktail party – it’s almost exactly that dress in pink.”

“You will be wearing THAT dress on Saturday?”

“Yep – what do you think?”

“I think I’d better take my sword.” And he wasn’t kidding. “You are going to be a vision, my lover.”

“Yeah, I want you to be proud of me.”

“My lover, I will always be proud of you, but you will be a Goddess in that dress.”

“I know- I can’t wait to wear it for you!”

“So are you looking forward to our trip now, my lover?”

“Yeah, I really am. I mean, I won’t ever be alone with Felipe and we’ll be having a party and a wedding and we’ll see shows and you said I could gamble a bit…”

“I had no idea you were looking forward to this, dear one. This is wonderful news.”

‘Yeah, I didn’t really get excited about it until I tried on the dress. All of a sudden, I can’t wait to go!”

“That makes me very happy, Sookie. Now we will have a wonderful time.”

“Yes we will!” she said as she kissed him on the cheek, and the other cheek and really planted one on his lips.”

As the movie continued, she commented on the necklace Maggie kept playing with in the movie. It was a simple diamond on a nearly invisible chain and Sookie wondered if any of her little necklaces would fit with that dress.
“What kind of necklaces do you have, my lover?”

“Just some little costume things. I can probably get a cubic zirconia at Walmart that will look a lot like the one she’s wearing.”

“You would wear a cubic zirconia on your neck and 12 carats of jewels on your hand?” he teased her.

“Yeah, well, it only has to look good one night and no one but me will know.”

“That is true.” They didn’t say much for a few minutes, and then Eric began to nuzzle her neck and tug at the red belt she still had on. The shoes had been gone for a while now, and the panties were being pulled one direction while she was tugging the dress over her head in the other. Before long, she was naked on the couch, posing for him as he quickly took off his shirt and jeans. He took the quilt from the couch and spread it on the floor between the couch and the TV.

“What are you doing?” Sookie asked, as he picked her up and put her back down on the floor.

“Have you ever had sex on the floor, my lover?” he said as he crawled over her with a predatory look.
“Do you really want to know that…” she said, looking up at him.

“No. I know you have never had sex on the floor with me, and that is all I care to think about.”

“I thought so – “ she said as her knees were raised in the air and he took her suddenly. Again, the state of perpetual readiness she was in kept it from being as painful as it otherwise might have been, and while Brick and Big Daddy yelled at each other on the screen, Sookie was yelling for a whole different reason.

She figured he must have taken umbrage (The Word of the Day calendar strikes again) at the idea of her having sex on someone else’s floor because he was merciless in the very best way. She was quite sure when he flipped her over and she felt his release spray on her back entrance and she realized that was going to serve as the lubricant as he claimed his territory. She started to notice that he liked to do that when he needed to prove his dominance and she was more than happy to be dominated at the moment.

She was starting to dig the caveman mentality of her vampire when it came to ownership of her body. She was going to make damned sure she carried Eric’s mark on her neck when they went to Las Vegas. She wanted creepy Felipe to see that she belonged to Eric Northman and no one else in no uncertain terms. The diamond on her hand would do that where humans were concerned, but vampires needed to see proof of feeding rights and she planned to wear her hair up to make sure Eric’s rights were clearly visible at the cocktail party and at the wedding.

Eric was speaking that Nordic language – she started to wonder if just hearing those words would make her come now, since he always said them at that particular moment. Eric was against her back, and she was rolled slightly back toward him because his hand was between her legs to make sure she was finished – which didn’t take long at all.

“Hey, I didn’t know there was a bathroom there!” She said as he went into a half bath off the den to clean himself up. He came back with a washcloth for her, too, and she was glad to see they didn’t mess up the quilt. He was turning off the TV and she was folding the quilt when it hit. A cramp – a seriously deep, painful cramp that literally brought Sookie to her knees.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “LATE Chapter 031

Leave a Reply

